Egg and fish are non-vegetarian:-
Persons interested in vegetarianism should carefully bear in mind the fact that eggs in diet comes under the category of non vegetarian food. People in some countries think that eggs come under the vegetable; therefore, they serve the Indians/Jains egg preparations under the name of vegetarian diet. It is therefore necessary for the strict vegetarians to be careful, else fish or egg-preparations may violate their sacred vow. Fish is a living animal therefore apparently fish eating will come under the category of meat i.e. non-vegetarian diet.
Our Jain sages, who were great philosophers as well as astounding spiritual- scientists have explained that egg comes under meat diet. The white side of the egg is a bony substance. The liquid matter inside forms the body of the chicken when hatched. Thus it has been classified as meat.
To treat egg at par with milk is as erroneous as to call a horse, a cow. Milk is the stage of food before it is transformed into blood, while egg contains blood and other constituents of flesh. Even the unfertilized egg is a non-vegetarian item. It is something like still born baby or unfertilized egg of mammals. It is clearly stated in the scriptures that this animal mass is the habitat of infinite number of nigod (microbes) souls irrespective of whether we interfere with ultimate growth by arresting the process of fertilization.
Therefore vegetarians should never eat egg to keep their vow of Ahimsa.
Eggs are the progeny of five-sensed beings. Food produced out of eggs is clearly flesh food. Some people argue that a vegetarian egg cannot give birth to a child; it is lifeless. This statement is untrue because it is a product of the sexual organ of the hen. So not only is it impure but it also increases in size after birth and does not become rotten. Therefore it is alive, though it may not possess the capacity to evolve form, but in no way can it be treated as lifeless.
Some people say that the milk of a cow or goat is also part of the body. However there is a vast difference between milk and eggs. This understanding is incorrect because an egg is the progeny of a hen, similarly milk is not the progeny of the cow. By taking milk out of the body of a cow or goat, no harm is done to their lives; whereas by use of the egg the creture inside the egg is killed. If the milk producing cow or goat is not milked at the proper time, agony is caused to it. Having said this, there are still issues about the way dairy cows are treated and their culling as soon as they are past their prime milking days.
Jains do not consume animal ingredients which involve the killing of a life–for example, we do not eat honey since many bees are killed in the process of honey farming. Neither do we consume eggs, since the egg had the potential to become a life. Gelatin and other animal byproducts are also strictly prohibited since they are not vegetarian.
Vegetarian Food and Jain Conduct - Eggs
Want to Kill Fewer Animals? Give Up Eggs
In Jainism, why is the consumption of eggs banned but milk and dairy products allowed?
Do not overload the stomach at night. Overloading is the direct cause for nocturnal emission. Take easily digestible, light food at night. Don't take very hot or heavy food as they cause diseases. Things fried in oil or ghee, over cooked foods, spicy foods, chutnies, chillies, meat, fish, eggs, garlic, onion, liquor, sour articles and stale food preparations should be avoided for they stimulate the sexual organs. Hot foods and hot tea weaken the teeth and gums. They make the semen watery.
(Brahmacharya of The Vedanta Path versus Brahmacharya of Akram Vignan)